Sunday Yoga

I didn’t make any official resolutions this year, most resolutions are things we should be doing anyway like working out and eating better. And I didn’t complete my last 2 years resolutions so I didn’t bother making one this year.  As part of my new workout schedule tho, I have started to try and make a habit of doing yoga more frequently. A few years ago (ok, several/many years ago) I practiced yoga on a semi-regular basis.  I was never ‘good’ at it, I’ve never been flexible, but I still found a lot of benefit – improved flexibility and grounding and a bunch of other stuff.  So this year in an effort to bring it back into my life I’m starting with Yoga Sunday’s.

be-constant

Sundays are a good time to focus on myself and add a spiritual ritual to my week. And it’s a great way to transition to a new week and prepare for Monday’s which always seem to suck.

1d2adfeaa492734ce417f369dd67bd04

I have a few yoga DVD’s, but this morning I didn’t feel like doing any of them so I jumped on You Tube and started searching.  Of course within 2 seconds I found a ton of videos to choose from.  The first one I clicked on to preview was some dumb chick in shorty shorts with a cheesy outdoor background and she kept smiling at the camera super weird and creepy.  The comments validated my initial thoughts so I moved on to the next one.  It didn’t take long to find Yoga with Adriene.  She has videos for Complete Beginners, Beginners, a 30 days of yoga series, and several other optoins.  I decided to do Yoga for Beginners today.

I liked her approach, yoga is a process and practice and about taking time for yourself.  Forget your to do lists and focus on what your body is feeling at this moment.

Yoga is the practice of tolerating the consequences of being yourself. | Bhagavad Gita

It was very ‘beginner’, so it’s true to the name.  It wasn’t challenging, but I got a good stretch and I felt more open afterwards. I will likely try some of her other videos. I’m not sure I can fit yoga into everyday like her 30 days of yoga series, but I’ll make an effort to do it on Sundays.

5d25663f453e776661303f7a5bd5466e

Leave a Reply

