Intentional

I started 2015 wanting to get organized, declutter and create more forward movement in my life.  I have a great life, but there’s things on my to-do list that have been on the list for years and haven’t been crossed off, projects that I’ve been too lazy to tackle, and a couple rooms that have an incredible amount of random shit that need to be cleaned out. We’re nowhere near “Hoarders: Buried Alive” status, but we have some trouble zones.

I found this quote on Pinterest and I thought it was such a simple yet powerful message for creating change in your life.  Your intention is powerful and defining your intention is the first step to getting anything done, including living your dreams. Yet it’s so easy to become complacent, to continue to walk by a pile of clutter so long you don’t even notice it anymore, to do things because they’ve always been done that way, to be miserable in the comfort of the known rather than risking change.

ab85f384a166e0ab20e863bf587dd431source

So how does this apply to my closet project? Because I still had the closet set up from when we moved in 14yrs ago.  I always meant to update to a new system and yet never managed to get it done. I had one rod and two shelves.  The rod was too low to put a second rod below it, the clothes would drag on the floor.  It wasn’t working for me and for years I wanted to install a real closet organizer. So a couple weeks ago I just did it – finally!!  I shopped around and found the Rubbermaid Configurations Closet Kit which was pretty affordable and customizable enough for what I needed.  I removed all my clothes, painted the inside of the closet and installed the kit.  It looks better and allows better access to most of my clothes, although I don’t feel like it gave me that much more storage.  I guess I had figured out how to maximize the space with one rod and 2 shelves….

Before:

20150214_09470220150214_094616

Honeybee helping:

20150214_110333 20150215_090722

After:

20150216_131939 20150216_131948 20150216_132011 20150216_132014

20150228_100142I’m still working on organizing where I want everything and this is a super blurry pic…

I bitched about my closet and wanted to change it for so many years, I’m wondering why it took me this long to actually get it done.  The total cost was under $100 and took about 2 days, so the barriers to get it done were pretty low. Yet everyday I would go into my closet and make the decision to not do anything about it. I think the difference this year is being intentional about creating spaces that I love in every area of our home (including closets).  This is the year I promise to live more from intention and less from habit and I’ll hopefully have the house to show for it by the end of the year!

R

Leave a Reply

